Flash Flood Watch issued August 20 at 1:33PM CDT expiring August 21 at 9:00AM CDT in effect for: Dodge, Fond du Lac, Jefferson, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, Waukesha
Flash Flood Watch issued August 20 at 11:46AM CDT expiring August 21 at 9:00AM CDT in effect for: Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Lafayette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Washington, Waukesha
LAS VEGAS (KTNV) - A new law in Nevada says drivers can get a ticket for going too slow in the left lane.
13 Action News went on a ride with a Nevada Highway Patrol trooper to see how the new law works.
While speeding is definitely still an issue in Las Vegas and on many highways in the state and country, NHP says the No. 1 driving issue that causes the most road rage is when people hog the passing lane.
But as of July 1, there are special rules for that left lane.
"It's law here that if you're gonna be in that lane, you need to be going at least the speed limit," said Trooper Jason Buratczuk.
And if you're not, you could get pulled over, like Spencer Nead did.
Buratczuk clocked Nead going as slow as 59 miles per hour in a 65 mph zone, causing a couple people to pass him on the right side.
"You'll never see me going below the speed limit in that lane again because I get annoyed by people driving that slow," Nead said.
Buratzcuk notes that he's not telling people to speed but rather do the speed limit.
NHP reminds drivers the main reason for the new law is to keep traffic flowing steadily and hopefully eliminate road rage incidents.
So far, three people in Nevada have been cited with breaking the new law. First offenses cost $50, second $100 and third $250.