NewsLocal News


Wisconsin native Matt Kenseth joins NASCAR Hall of Fame

NASCAR Hall of Fame Auto Racing
Posted at 5:49 PM, May 04, 2022
and last updated 2022-05-04 18:49:45-04

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) — Drivers Matt Kenseth and Hershel McGriff and crew chief Kirk Shelmerdine have been selected to the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Kenseth is from Cambridge, Wisconsin.

Mike Helton was named the Landmark Award winner for outstanding contributions to the sport Wednesday during a ceremony at the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

The group will officially be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Jan. 20.

Kenseth was a first ballot selection, Shelmerdine was voted in on his third try and McGriff his seventh.

Kenseth and Shelmerdine were voted in on the modern day ballot, while McGriff made it in on the pioneer ballot.

Report a typo or error // Submit a news tip