Two southeast Wisconsin high school students have been named Presidential Scholars

Posted at 11:18 AM, May 08, 2017
and last updated 2017-05-08 18:11:39-04

Two high school students from our region have been recognized as the best of the best when it comes to academic achievement.

Brookfield East's Colin Gray-Hoehn and Waupun's Dylon Pokorny both received the honor, the state Department of Public Instruction announced Monday. Just 161 students nationally were recognized this year.

“Wisconsin’s Presidential Scholars represent the outstanding graduates of the Class of 2017,” said State
Superintendent Tony Evers. “These students know it takes hard work, dedication, and responsibility to balance their academic studies along with a host of extracurricular and service activities they pursued in high school."

Presidential Scholars are chosen each year based on "outstanding performance on the ACT and SAT college admissions exams, through nominations made by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations, or the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide YoungArts competition."

New Glarus High School's Maria Thurow also received the Presidential Scholar designation.

Be sure and watch TODAY'S TMJ4 on Roku! We are the only station in Milwaukee to provide the latest news, weather and sports on the device. Search for us on Roku today!