Wisconsin added to Chicago's 14-day travel advisory

Posted at 2:18 PM, Sep 22, 2020
and last updated 2020-09-22 18:14:15-04

CHICAGO — Wisconsin is once again on Chicago's 14-day travel advisory.

This marks the second time the state has been on Chicago's travel advisory, which requires travelers to the city from areas on the list to self-quarantine for 14 days.

States are added to the advisory if it averages more than 15 new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 residents over a seven-day period.

As of Tuesday morning, there were over 102,498 cases of COVID-19 confirmed in the state.

States added to Chicago's advisory are evaluated every Tuesday and go into effect that Friday.

To view the travel advisory, click here.

The states currently included on Chicago's travel order are: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Wisconsin.

The travel order is to remain in effect until further notice.

The order applies to people coming from Wisconsin to Chicago for non-work purposes and Chicago residents returning from Wisconsin, unless they are deemed an 'essential worker.'

Exceptions include people traveling for medical care and parental shared custody. People traveling through Wisconsin on their way to Chicago from a state not on the list do not need to quarantine if they were in Wisconsin for less than 24 hours, according to the order.

People who travel to Wisconsin, even if for less than 24 hours, still need to quarantine upon returning unless deemed an essential worker, the order states.

Report a typo or error // Submit a news tip

Coronavirus in Wisconsin

More data on Wisconsin's vaccination progress here.

Find a vaccination site here.

Check out county-by-county coronavirus case numbers here.

More information: COVID-19 on the Wisconsin DHS website

Latest news and headlines here.