VideoSports Videos


Milwaukee Wave are the 2019 Arena League champions

Posted at 11:51 AM, May 06, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-06 14:14:59-04

MILWAUKEE -- For the seventh time in team history, the Milwaukee Wave are Major Arena Soccer League champions.

This was the team's first title since winning back-to-back championships in 2011 and 2012.

Led by MVP Marcio Leite, the Wave defeated the Monterrey Flash 5-2 to capture the Ron Newman Cup.

The Wave finished the regular season with the MASL's second-best record of 21-3. The team then went undefeated in the playoffs.

In the first round of the playoffs, the Kansas City Comets became the first victim, losing both games in the best of three.

Next up was the Baltimore Blast, and then the Monterrey Flash in the championship game.

After both teams were defeated, the Wave hoisted the Ron Newman Cup, bringing another professional sports title to the city of Milwaukee.