Sitton among Packers cut; final 53-man roster released

Posted at 6:12 PM, Sep 02, 2016
and last updated 2016-09-03 19:23:06-04

The first few days of September will be the hardest for nearly two dozen Green Bay Packers players who are finding out their NFL dreams are being deferred, or permanently denied.

Packers GM Ted Thompson and Coach Mike McCarthy cut down their overall roster from 75 to 53 players in preparation for the 2016 NFL season. 

One of those cutdowns is former Pro Bowl guard Josh Sitton, a longtime anchor of the offensive line. The Packers announced he was cut.

“We want to thank Josh for his contributions during his time in Green Bay. He has been an important part of the success we have enjoyed on the field,” GM Ted Thompson said in a statement.

“While these decisions are never easy, this was done with a focus on what is best for the team and the growth of the offensive line. We wish Josh and his wife, Kristen, all the best in the future.”

Another is linebacker Sam Barrington, per the Journal Sentinel's Bob McGinn.

Here is the current overall roster after the full list of final cuts:

- No. 6: Joe Callahan, rookie, Wesley College
- No. 7: Brett Hundley, 2nd year, UCLA
- No. 12: Aaron Rodgers, 12th year, California

Running back:
- No. 34: Brandon Burks, rookie, Troy
- No. 27: Eddie Lacy, 4th year, Alabama
- No. 44: James Starks, 7th year, Buffalo

- No. 22: Aaron Ripkowski, 2nd year, Oklahoma

Wide receiver:
- No. 84: Jared Abbrederis, 3rd year, Wisconsin
- No. 17: Davante Adams, 3rd year, Fresno State
- No. 18: Randall Cobb, 6th year, Kentucky
- No. 11: Trevor Davis, rookie, California
- No. 83: Jeff Janis, 3rd year, Saginaw Valley State
- No. 88: Ty Montgomery, 2nd year, Stanford
- No. 87: Jordy Nelson, 9th year, Kansas State

Tight end:
- No. 89: Jared Cook, 8th year, South Carolina
- No. 80: Justin Perillo, 3rd year, Maine
- No. 82: Richard Rodgers, 3rd year, California

Offensive line:
- No. 69: David Bakthiari, 4th year, Colorado
- No. 67: Don Barclay, 5th year, West Virginia
- No. 75: Bryan Bulaga, 7th year, Iowa
- No. 70: T.J. Lang, 8th year, Eastern Michigan
- No. 63: Corey Linsley, 3rd year, Ohio State - PUP list
- No. 68: Kyle Murphy, rookie, Stanford
- No. 78: Jason Spriggs, rookie, Indiana
- No. 65: Lane Taylor, 4th year, Oklahoma State
- No. 73: JC Tretter, 4th year, Cornell

Defensive line:
- No. 97: Kenny Clark, rookie, UCLA
- No. 76: Mike Daniels, 5th year, Iowa
- No. 98: Letroy Guion, 9th year, Florida State
- No. 90, Tyler Kuder, rookie, Idaho State (IR)
- No. 95: Datone Jones, 4th year, UCLA-
- No. 94: Dean Lowry, rookie, Northwestern
- No. 64: Mike Pennel, 3rd year, Colorado State-Pueblo (reserve-suspended)
- No. 99: Christian Ringo, 1st year, Louisiana-Lafayette

- No. 91: Jayrone Elliott, 3rd year, Toledo-
- No. 51: Kyler Fackrell, rookie, Utah State
- No. 50: Blake Martinez, rookie, Stanford
- No. 52: Clay Matthews, 8th year, USC 
- No. 56: Julius Peppers, 15th year, North Carolina
- No. 53: Nick Perry, 5th year, USC
- No. 47: Jake Ryan, 2nd year, Michigan
- No. 48: Joe Thomas, 2nd year, South Carolina State

- No. 20: Makinton Dorleant, rookie, Northern Iowa
- No. 39: Demetri Goodson, 3rd year, Baylor (reserved-suspended)
- No. 36: LaDarius Gunter, 2nd year, Miami
- No. 33: Micah Hyde, 4th year, Iowa
- No. 28: Josh Hawkins, rookie, East Carolina
- No. 23: Damarious Randall, 2nd year, Arizona State
- No. 24: Quentin Rollins, 2nd year, Miami (Ohio)
- No. 37: Sam Shields, 7th year, Miami (Fla.)

- No. 32: Chris Banjo, 3rd year, SMU
- No. 29: Kentrell Bryce, rookie, Louisiana Tech- 
- No. 42: Morgan Burnett, 7th year, Georgia Tech
- No. 21: Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, 3rd year, Alabama 
- No. 25: Marwin Evans, rookie, Utah State (from Milwaukee, played at Oak Creek High School)
- No. 2: Mason Crosby, 10th year, Colorado

- No. 10: Jacob Schum, 2nd year, Buffalo