SportsBaseballMilwaukee Brewers


Brewers officially announce opening day roster

Brewers finalize 25 man roster
Brewers officially announce opening day roster
Posted at 9:08 PM, Mar 28, 2018
and last updated 2018-03-28 22:08:41-04

The Milwaukee Brewers officially announced their opening day roster for the 2018 season. 

The team went with 11 pitchers and 14 position players. 

Nine of the 11 pitchers are right-handed with Brent Suter and Josh Hader being the only left-handed options. 

The right-handed options are Matt Albers, Chase Anderson, Jacob Barnes, Jhoulys Chacin, Zach Davies, Oliver Drake, Jeremy Jeffress, Corey Knebel and Brandon Woodruff. 

In the field, the Brewers will open with two catchers, Jett Bandy and Manny Pina. While a third catcher, Stephen Vogt, will start the season on the disabled list. 

In a surprising turn of events, the Brewers will roster three first-basemen: Eric Thames, Jesus Aguilar and Ji-Man Choi. 

The rest of their infield is made up of shortstop Orlando Arcia, utility man Hernan Perez, third baseman Travis Shaw, second baseman Eric Sogard, and second baseman Jonathan Villar. 

The Brewers outfield will consist of Ryan Braun, Lorenzo Cain, Christian Yelich and Domingo Santana. 

The Brewers start their 2018 season tomorrow in San Diego. Chase Anderson will be the opening day starter and Ryan Braun will be the starting first baseman against the Padres Clayton Richard.