News

Actions

Ignore this Facebook viral hoax

Post claims Facebook to make personal info public
Web-Default-Image_1280x720-WTMJ.png
Posted at 10:07 AM, Oct 18, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-18 11:07:51-04

A Facebook hoax is again making the rounds on the social media platform that you've probably noticed clogging up your news feed.

The post began circulating Monday, and claims that Facebook planst to change its privacy policy, making everything you've ever posted on the site public beginning Tuesday, including "messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed."

The post is similar to previous versions of the same hoax, and is absolutely false.

Here's the text of the viral post:

Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you've ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook's privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. just copy and paste.

According to Snopes.com, the hoax has origins going back to 2012 when Facebook announced they were considering revoking users' rights to vote on proposed policy changes.