Walker declares State of Emergency over flooding in western Wisconsin

13 counties are affected
Posted at 5:14 PM, Sep 22, 2016
and last updated 2016-09-22 23:17:15-04

MADISON -- Governor Scott Walker has declared a State of Emergency for 13 counties in western Wisconsin affected by heavy rain, flooding, and mudslides this week.

Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Eau Claire, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, Trempealeau, and Vernon Counties are affected.

“More than 10 inches of rain fell this week which caused flooding and mudslides across the region of western Wisconsin,” Governor Walker said. “I want to thank all of the first responders and local officials in the area who are working hard to manage the situation. I am instructing the Wisconsin National Guard and all state agencies to provide assistance to those affected by this natural disaster.”

One person died in Vernon County after their home was destroyed in a mudslide, according to Wisconsin Emergency Management.

“We are saddened by the news of a fatality,” added Governor Walker. “Our thoughts and prayers are with the citizens of western Wisconsin affected by the storm as they recover.”

The executive order will help local governments pay for unreimbursed costs of both damage and cleanup.