NewsLocal News


Milwaukee Public Schools students, teachers receive Herb Kohl Foundation honors

Posted at 4:41 PM, May 06, 2021
and last updated 2021-05-06 23:19:40-04

MILWAUKEE — Milwaukee Public Schools announced Thursday the selection of its 11 teachers and 13 students who will receive honors and scholarship money from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation.

MPS said in a statement the honorees are among 200 graduating seniors, 101 teachers and 16 principals across Wisconsin.

"Excellence Scholarship recipients demonstrate academic excellence, high motivation, and a broad range of activity and leadership. Initiative Scholarship recipients demonstrate initiative in school and strong promise for success in college and beyond," according to MPS.

At Audubon High School, located in Milwaukee's south side, both teacher Andrew Lazzari and student Anya Ramos received awards. Ramos is set to graduate next month where she'll then move on to enrolling at Marquette University in the fall.

"This scholarship is just going to help me so much through like study abroad programming because I really want to expand my cultural knowledge. It's one thing to read in a book about how like different cultures are, but to have that experience and to have that opportunity of like getting money to actually travel is just so amazing and I just couldn't be happier," said Ramos.

Ramos developed a passion for service throughout her time at Audubon, participating in several different organizations including the Boys and Girls Club. During her junior year, she created her own service club alongside her best friend that helped throughout the community.

"I want to listen to the community and see what I can do to help them."

Ramos received the $10,000 Initiative Scholarship that recognizes individuals that demonstrate initiative in school and show a strong promise for success in college and beyond.

"I'm going to major in social justice and welfare because I just really like to be hands-on in the community and that's just my passion."

"I'm inspired by what my students are able to do and the obstacles they've overcome with such grace," said Lazarri, a teacher in social studies and restorative justice.

Lazarri has been working as a teacher for 14 years and was awarded the Teacher Fellowship, an honor that recognizes leadership and inspires students to fall in love with learning.

"When you hear some of their backgrounds and where they end up actually getting to and the achievements that they get to, that's better than an award."

The honorees are as follows:

Teacher Fellowship Honorees

  • Megan Geddes, Highland Community School
  • Julie Hapeman, Milwaukee Public Schools District Office
  • Andrew Lazzari, Audubon High School
  • Joan Masek, Hamilton High School
  • Stephanie Meyer, Hamilton High School
  • Melissa Ray, Milwaukee Excellence Charter School
  • Danielle Robinson, Brown Street Academy
  • Alicia Steiner, Highland Community School
  • Zachary Tillman, Reagan High School
  • Matt Wood, Reagan High School
  • Michelle Young, Golda Meir School

Thirteen MPS students have been selected as recipients in two scholarship categories.

Excellence Scholarship Recipients

  • Catherine Fink, Milwaukee School of Languages
  • Maya Groser, Rufus King International High School
  • Isabella Heller de Messer, Rufus King International High School
  • Hannah Hippe, Rufus King International High School
  • Meng Moua, Rufus King International High School
  • Iman Snobar, Reagan High School

Initiative Scholarship Recipients

  • Daevion Alexander, Obama School of Career & Technical Education
  • Darnell Burrell, Vincent High School
  • Tiyonna Duckworth, North Division High School
  • Anya Ramos, Audubon High School
  • Quashawn Saygo, Banner Preparatory School
  • Taniyra Spinks, Pulaski High School
  • Narielle Tyler, MacDowell Montessori School

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl in 1990. The foundation says it has awarded $25.2 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students and schools.

Report a typo or error // Submit a news tip