NewsLocal News


Gov. Walker declares state of emergency after storms

Posted at 5:06 PM, Aug 28, 2018
and last updated 2018-08-28 18:08:22-04

Gov. Scott Walker has declared a state of emergency for several Wisconsin Counties hit hard by severe storms this week. 

Walker declared it for Fond du Lac, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Vernon, and Washington due to flash flooding, heavy rain, and wind damage. 

Walker added the six counties to the declaration for Dane County issued last week. 

“The past ten days have subjected our state to torrential rains and flooding, with homes and businesses damaged or destroyed,” said Walker in a news release. “I know Wisconsin will continue to effectively respond to these storms. I’m proud of our National Guardsmen, first responders, and volunteers from across the state who continue to lead the response during the cleanup and recovery.”

Under the declaration, state agencies shift their focus to assist the counties and the National Guard can be called out if necessary for further assistance.