ST. FRANCIS -- The old St. Mary’s Academy in St. Francis is being torn down.
The Sister’s of St Francis were forced to close the building last year due to the high cost of maintenance.
The building stood for more than 100 years and is best known as a Catholic high school for girls that opened in 1904 and closed in the early 90’s. Most recently the iconic cream brick building housed the Marian Center for Non-Profits.
An assisted living center for 80 nuns will eventually be built on the site.