MoneyConsumerCall 4 Action

Actions

Watch out for a 'is this you?' Facebook message

Posted at 7:57 PM, Jan 11, 2020
and last updated 2020-01-12 15:57:54-05

If you get a message from a Facebook friend with video link asking, “Is this you?”, do not click on the link until you check things out.

In many cases, this message could be a warning that your friend’s Facebook account was hacked.

If you click on the link, you could get hacked, too. Here is how the scam works: you click on a link for what you believe is a legitimate video from a friend.

This could lead to malware being downloaded that allows a hacker to try the same scheme on all of your Facebook friends.

The hacker uses Facebook messenger to contact your friends, posing as you, with a disturbing or enticing message that tells them to click on a video.

The message often contains the phrase, “Is this you?”

They may use exclamation points, an emoji, and or other tactics to convince your friends to click on the video link. If the link is clicked, the same malware is downloaded, potentially putting other accounts at risk.

To avoid falling victim, never click on a link or paste a link into your browser until you check things out. Contact your friend via phone or text to ask if they sent you a message with a video.

Upon learning that this is a scam, delete the message immediately. If you accidentally click on the link and are told to provide login credentials, watch out.

Contact Facebook Customer Service for help in reporting the problem, getting your account restored, and steps to take to avoid getting taken in the future.

Report a typo or error